The Board of Directors


The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Nordkinn consists of five independent and three partner representatives.

Board Chairman – Tor Bechmann (independent)

Tor Bechmann acts as Chairman of Nordkinn Asset Management. He is a Lawyer and Partner at Tenden Advokatfirma ANS in Norway. As a specialist within M&A transactions and commercial law in particular, Mr. Bechmann has extensive experience stretching over more than 20 years in the industry.

Before joining Tenden in 2005, he worked for law firm Wikborg, Rein & Co., the Oslo Stock Exchange and PWC in both Oslo and London.

Mr. Bechmann holds a Master Degree in Law from Oslo University in Norway from 1997.

Board Member – Erik Eidolf, Chief Executive Officer 

Erik Eidolf is one of the Founding Partners and CEO of Nordkinn. Mr. Eidolf has been engaged in the hedge fund industry since 1998.

Prior to Nordkinn Mr. Eidolf founded Harcourt Investment Consulting AG’s Nordic business, with dual objective to cover research on locally based hedge funds as well as business development. During 2011 – 2012 Mr. Eidolf was Chairman for UN PRI’s work steam on hedge funds promoting increased governance, transparency and responsibility with the hedge fund industry.

Mr. Eidolf holds a Master’s Degree in Finance from Umeå University in Sweden from 1999.

Board Member – Ronny Eriksson, Investment Manager

Ronny Eriksson is one of the Founding Partners of Nordkinn Asset Management and Investment Manager.

Prior to Nordkinn Mr. Eriksson held various positions within Ericsson Treasury, where he most recently was a Senior Dealer with co-responsibility for the asset management portfolio with a SEK benchmark and the FX-forward portfolio with main focus G3 currencies and SEK.

Mr. Eriksson holds a Master’s degree in Finance from Umeå University in Sweden from 1999.

Board Member – Tom E. S. Farmen, Head of Risk Allocations

Tom Farmen is one of the Founding Partners of Nordkinn Asset Management and Head of Risk Allocations.

Prior to Nordkinn Dr. Farmen held the position as a Senior Portfolio Manager and Head of Cash Management at the Central Bank of Norway where he managed the most liquid part of the Foreign Exchange reserves. Dr. Farmen started his career at NBIM (Norges Bank Investment Management) in 2005. As a portfolio manager, he managed several fixed income portfolios.

Dr. Farmen received a PhD in Corporate Finance (Credit risk and investment strategies) from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in 2006. He also holds a BA in Finance and Marketing from Strathclyde University in Scotland (1999), a MBA (International) from Griffith University in Australia (2000) and a BA in Political Science from Oslo University (2013).

Board member – Christer Franzén (independent)

Christer Franzén is an independent board member of Nordkinn representing the asset owner perspective. Mr. Franzén has extensive asset management experience having been active in the financial markets in Sweden and in the US since 1986. Mr. Franzén is Chief Investment Officer at Ericsson Pension Fund.

Mr. Franzén holds a BA in Economics and Business Administration from the University of Örebro in Sweden from 1985 and has also carried out financial studies at Southern Methodist University – Cox School of Business.

Board Member – Runar Gulhaugen (independent)

Runar Gulhaugen is an independent board member of Nordkinn representing the asset owner perspective.

Mr. Gulhaugen has previous experience as executive in Norsk Hydro including Head of the Portfolio Management of Norsk Hydro’s Pension Fund and Chief Investment Officer of Norsk Hydro’s Pension Fund. Mr. Gulhaugen has also been leading an investment committee for management of the assets of the Confederation of Norwegian Enterprise (NHO). Mr. Gulhaugen has also been a member of the Finance Committee of Norsk Hydro UK pension fund and Norsk Hydro pension fund in the Netherlands.

Mr. Gulhaugen holds an MBA from NHH Norwegian School of Economics in Bergen.

Adjunct Board member – Emma Ihre (independent), Investor Ombudsman

Emma Ihre is Investor Ombudsman at Nordkinn and an independent adjunct board member representing the perspective of Nordkinn’s investors. Ms. Ihre has been involved in sustainability issues in the financial market since 1998. As Head of Sustainability at Mannheimer Swartling Advokatbyrå AB Ms. Ihre works with adding value in the firm’s service offering to clients and is responsible for developing the firm’s sustainability initiatives.

Before joining Mannheimer Swartling Ms. Ihre served as Head of Sustainable Business at the Swedish Ministry of Finance and was responsible for integrating sustainability and business ethics into the governance of state-owned companies as well as Head of Engagement at Ethix SRI Advisors.

Ms. Ihre has a degree in economics from Stockholm University.

Board member – Arne Jon Isachsen (independent)

Arne Jon Isachsen is an independent board member of Nordkinn. In 1975 he received the Ph. D. in Economics from Stanford University  In 1983 he became tenured professor at BI Norwegian Business School, after having worked with the Ministry of Finance and Norges Bank.

While pursuing his academic carrier he worked for four years as chief economist in Elcon Partners, a brokerage firm. In 1990 professor Isachsen established the Centre for Monetary Economics at BI, a meeting place for academics, business people and public servants concerned with fiscal and monetary issues. He chaired this centre until retiring in 2016, to become professor emeritus.

Isachsen has published widely on financial issues. He has written a dozen books, the last one on economic and political developments in China. All through his time at BI professor Isachsen has done consulting for business as well as for the public sector. For a few weeks each fall for some ten years he was visiting scholar at the Brookings Institution in Washington D. C.